http://www.guardian.co.uk/science/2011/may/15/stephen-hawking-interview-there-is-no-heaven

“I regard the brain as a computer which will stop working when its components fail. There is no heaven or afterlife for broken down computers; that is a fairy story for people afraid of the dark.”

I don’t believe in God. I don’t believe in heaven either. But just because I don’t believe it exists doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist. The existence of heaven can’t be confirmed. After all, it’s all about believing – whether you believe in heaven or not.

Some say people who do believe in heaven have less fear about death than those who don’t believe in heaven. Maybe this is true. Maybe not. As humans, we’re all afraid of death. Because it’s the ultimate dead end. It’s the real ending. Everything is over, and there is no “again”. I’m not a believer of heaven so I don’t know the details to it, but from what I know people who believe in heaven think of it as moving on to a better place. Whereas people who don’t believe in heaven see death more realistically, as the end to everything. Well, some might believe in afterlife and the rebirth, too.

As a person who doesn’t believe in heaven, I can see where Dr. Hawking is coming from. It does make sense to me. I can understand what he’s saying. But for those who do believe in heaven? Probably not. He may even be considered as an ignorant and poor soul to them. In the end, it’s just a matter of different opinion and beliefs.

